We can say that, in most cases, 30 minutes are needed for a bail bondsman to process an application for bond. Once the bail has been paid for you or your loved one, getting out of jail typically takes four to 24 hours. However, the entire process can take up to two months in Tennessee, as there is a selection process that must be carried out. The following is a brief overview of the steps involved in the licensing and becoming a guarantor process. Bail is usually set within 48 hours after arrest.
This gives the court time to review the case and determine the appropriate amount of bail based on the seriousness of the crime and the defendant's criminal history. A judge will take into account factors such as the defendant's ties to the community, the likelihood that he will appear in court as required, and the possible risk to public safety if the defendant is released. Unfortunately, there is no set period within which the accused must be released after being released on bail. In general, it can take between four and eight hours for an individual to be released from jail, although it can happen more quickly or it can take longer. You can get this information quickly by contacting the courthouse in the county where the inmate is staying.
The clerk will ask you several questions about the inmate, such as their legal name, birth name, legal address, date of birth, case number, and inmate number; without this information, they may not be able to provide the bond amount. Bail schedules provide guidelines for judges, but ultimately it's up to them to set a fair amount of bail. The bond agent will charge a non-refundable fee, normally 10% of the amount of the bond, to deposit a bond on behalf of the defendant. If you need assistance with this process, contact the Bail Bond Agent Network and we'll connect you with a guarantor you can trust. In general, understanding and navigating through the process of setting and paying bail can be complex and confusing, especially for those who are not familiar with the criminal justice system. By comparison, if the defendant has a criminal record or a history of absences in court, the judge may set a higher bond than recommended in the bail schedule. You'll also need to take initial and annual bail bond classes to familiarize yourself with Tennessee bail laws.
Because it can be difficult to analyze each case in its entirety, some areas rely on a bond scheduling system to determine the amount of the bond. If you want to use a bond agency, most agencies charge 10 percent of the bond amount. To begin this process, simply contact your preferred bail bond agency or submit a bond application online. If the judge considers that the charges are justified, they will provide you with terms of the bond and its amount. That said, there are times when it is necessary to deny bail, especially if the defendant is a threat to public safety or has a history of bypassing bail.
For example, if this is their first offense and they have family ties in their community, then they may receive a lower amount of bail than what is suggested by the bail schedule. If either you or your criminal defense lawyers believe that the bail set by the judge is too high, you can request a hearing to reduce its amount. Rather than paying out-of-pocket for this amount yourself, you can use an agency which covers it and expects you to meet your obligations to the court so that they will be reimbursed.